Doctoral Student Opportunities at the UNC Nutrition Research Institute


Part of the prestigious University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the Nutrition Research Institute is home to accomplished research scientists from a wide range of fields including medicine, nutrition, genetics, neuroscience, psychology, biochemistry, sociology, and pharmacology. Separately and together they are breaking ground in the field of individualized nutrition by understanding the reasons for metabolic variation, which include genetic, epigenetic, dietary, and environmental causes.

Faculty members in the Department of Nutrition at UNC-Chapel Hill who are located at the Nutrition Research Institute have openings for outstanding doctoral students. This is an exceptional opportunity to conduct research in a state-of-the-art facility with cutting-edge scientific programs.

Important Information

To begin the application process follow this link to the PhD program application page on the UNC-Chapel Hill website.

QUESTIONS about the application process?
  • Jonathan Earnest
  • Academic Coordinator
  • earnestj@email.unc.edu
  • 919-966-7212
  • 260 Rosenau Hall CB # 7461 Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7461

 

For more information about where the NRI is located, housing, schools, medical facilities and more, click here.

2019 Doctoral Student Opportunities

These faculty members currently have openings for doctoral students. Funding for stipend, in-state tuition, reimbursement, and costs associated with research expenses and the dissertation project will be covered. Please email faculty members directly to discuss your interest. For more information about their programs and working at the NRI, click here.

Carol Cheatham, PhD
Associate Professor, Psychology and Neuroscience
Nutrition for memory and attention abilities
carol_cheatham@unc.edu

Natalia Krupenko, PhD
Assistant Professor, Nutrition
Role of folate in promoting health and preventing disease
natalia_krupenko@unc.edu

Philip May, PhD
Professor, Nutrition
Nutritional effects on maternal risk factors and on children with Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (FASD)
philip_may@unc.edu

Katie Meyer, ScD
Assistant Professor, Nutrition
Nutritional and Cardiovascular Disease Epidemiologist
ktmeyer@email.unc.edu

Sandra Mooney, PhD
Associate Professor, Nutrition
Effect(s) of environment and genes on brain development
sandra_mooney@unc.edu

Susan Smith, PhD
Professor, Nutrition
NRI Deputy Director for Science

Molecular mechanisms by which dietary components affect prenatal development.
susan_smith@unc.edu

Delisha Stewart, PhD
Assistant Professor, Nutrition
Influence of nutrition on cancer health disparities
delisha_stewart@unc.edu

Susan Sumner, PhD
Professor, Nutrition
Metabolic individuality
susan_sumner@unc.edu

Saroja Voruganti, PhD
Assistant Professor, Nutrition
Genetics and environmental influences on disease risk
saroja@unc.edu